Properly Mommin’

SURVIVING UNWANTED ADVICE

Be yourself; Everyone else is already taken.

— Oscar Wilde.

I thought this quote was so fitting for this topic, “Properly Mommin”. There are so many people who have “mommed” before us millennials, and they want to share their opinions on everything from child rearing to nutrition to musical selections, to clothes, and the list goes on. These things are all very nice and we should be taught! The bible tells us that the older women are to teach the younger women so that we can learn to properly tend to our families (Titus 2:3-5). Boom, I get that and I agree with it. Also, it is important for new moms to be able to learn different parenting techniques and be free to develop along the way, without being shunned or considered hard-headed or disrespectful or a miss know-it-all. In these times, relationships matter a great deal and we should make it a priority to establish relationships between the older and younger women especially within the church, BEFORE telling them how to “get their life!”

Have you ever had a complete stranger walk up to you and tell you what you should or shouldn’t be doing with, to or for your baby?? I can’t be the only one? In raising my children, I have received a lot of unsolicited advice (insert side eye)! That’s where I learned the ole “smile and nod” with a pinch of “ooh I’ll have to try that!”(on occasion, because people are crazy!) On too many occasions have people encouraged me to add Benadryl or an alcoholic beverage to my whining child’s bottle!!! What in the child abuse, underage drinking kind of advice is that? But I digress– Moving along, when I received advice I wasn’t dismissive or rude, I’d simply smile and nod and acknowledge them. There were plenty of times that I wanted to scream “No one asked you tho!” But I didn’t, of course I didn’t lol. I always would thank them for their input and keep it moving. I decided early on what kind of mom I was going to be, and with that in mind, when folks gave me advice, I would listen but if it did not align with my mom goals I would let it go in one ear and out the other. As my college Pastor would say, “eat the meat and spit out the bones”. In a nut shell that simply means, take what you can use and the rest throw away.

So, Moms if you haven’t already figured it out, the proper way to properly mom is…….. to properly be yourself. This is actually one of the first lessons you will teach your children about their own identity and how to operate in it. Being yourself and owning it! Know that you will receive unwanted advice and some of it will actually be worth your while and beneficial to you and some not so much. All of this is okay! Smile, nod and keep it pushing! You are a great mom and you’re doing an amazing job, just being you!

If you’re unsure of the kind of mom you want to be, or need help talking things out email me and we can talk it out together! (properchristianmom@gmail.com)

God has gifted us our children, they are rewards from Him. We are to love them and teach them to love God and know Him for themselves. -Psalm 127 3-5 (paraphrased)

Until next time…

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started